Imágenes de páginas

not improbable, that it has been acted upon, since the extinction of the disease of Leprosy?

In 1712, ELIZABETH STRODE, Spinster, gave to the poor strangers that come to The Leper's Bathat Bath, the yearly sum of 51., to be paid out of her lands in the County of Gloucester,—and she appointed Mr. Moor, an Apothecary at the Bath, during his life, to be the receiver and distributor of her bounty,and after his decease, she appointed the Rector of the Abbey Church to perform the same duties.

The sum of 51. was continued to be paid for the benefit of persons who could not afford to drink the Bath waters, until the year 1786, since which time no payment has been made, there being no Bath known by the name of The Leper's Bath,now existing in the City of Bath, and it is not known therefore to whom to

pay it.

The objects intended to be relieved by

7 Rep. viii. p. 58.


this Charity appearing to be now provided for by THE GENERAL HOSPITAL at Bath, it is recommended by The Commissioners, that the Arrears which are now due, be paid over to the Rector, and by him appropriated to the purposes of that Institution,—and that the future yearly payments be paid to the Rector for the time being, and applied by him in like manner.

The LepersBath appears, however, to have been well known to Mr. Wood, who says, that “ this Cistern being the place “ of resource for the most miserable objects who seek relief from the healing “ fountains, is proportionably mean, ob

scure, and small,—it's medium size is “ no more than about 10 feet in length - from North to South, by 8 feet in 66 breadth from East to West,—and it is “ filled by the overflowing of The Hot

Bath,— But, nevertheless, the fluid 66 retains it's medicinal virtues so well in our little Bath, that numberless cures

8 Rep. iv. p. 295.





“ have been effected by people bathing in “ it,-among which one appears to the

publick by an inscription fixed up

against the side of the Cistern, in these “ words,

“ WILLIAM BERRY, of Garthorpe,

near Melton Mowbray, in the County of Leicester, CURED of a

dry LEPROSY by the help of God,

" and the Bath, 1737.”9 And Dr. PEIRCE in his History and Memoirs of The Bath, gives a plan of 6. The Lazours' Bath,as contiguous to " The Hot Bath.'

In 1652, Lady ELIZABETH SCUDAMORE granted an annuity of 81. to be paid by The Mayor and Aldermen of Bath to a Physician, to be appointed by them, who should gratis and without any other reward whatsoever, give his best advice to all poor persons and others, not being conveniently able to maintain themselves, resorting to the Bath for cure of their diseases or infirmities.

· Wood's description of Bath. vol. ii. p. 257. edit.

In conformity with this gift, The Corporation regularly pay 8l. a year to a Physician, whom they appoint annually, and who, for that consideration, gives his attendance on the poor persons who are resident in the Hospital, called Bellott's Hospital.His visits are confined to those poor persons only,--as it would be too much to expect that a Physician would, for so small a salary, attend all the

poor resorting to Bath. In 1630, John MEREDITH, Citizen and Skinner of London, bequeathed to The Master, Wardens and Commonalty of The Skinners certain premises, upon trust, that they should pay the rents thereof to poor old freemen of The Company, and their widows, who are required not to reside out of the Liberties of the City, without leave first obtained, in writing, otherwise their weekly pensions are to cease, “ except it be for their travelling to the Bath for the recovery of

10 Rep. iv. p. 297.

their health, or upon the like just oc




IN WINCHESTER. The Hospital of St. Mary Magdalen, in Winchester, is conjectured by Dr. MilNER to have been founded by RICHARD TOCLYVE, who was Bishop of Winchester from the year 1173 to the year 1189.

From an inspection of the Register of WILLIAM of WYKEHAM, in the Cathedral, The Commissioners found that he, in the year 1400, as Bishop of Winchester, exercised a Visitatorial power over this Hospital,—from whence it may be presumed, in the absence of all documents relating to it's foundation, that the Bishop of Winchester, for the time being, is the Special Visitor of the same, appointed by The Founder, and it did not, therefore, come within the scope of their Inquiry. 12


Rep. VIII. p. 367.
12 XII
Rep. xII. p. 469.

« AnteriorContinuar »