« AnteriorContinuar »
and from an early period there are in The Corporation accounts, entries of annual payments of 51. under the title of “ Ruins of the Minster Bread,” which is considered as the interest of this money.
Mr. Harwood in his History of Lichfield, p. 375, informs us, that “out of the materials of the Cathedral Church of Lichfield, 1001. were allotted to the City, the interest of which was to be paid by The Corporation to the Overseers of the three Parishes, 51." It is, therefore, evident that this money was produced by the sale of materials arising from the dilapidation of the Cathedral, during the Civil wars in the unhappy reign of CHARLES the First. 23
In the destructive Fire of London, a room at the West end of the Church of St. Martin's in the Vintry, which had been built by Mr. Platt for the purpose of a School, was burnt with the Church, and has never been rebuilt. 24
23 Rep. VII. p. 413. 24 Rep. I. p. 169.
Indeed the situation of property must have been greatly changed upon that awful occasion.
All the Parish documents of St. Stephen Coleman Street, were destroyed in that Fire,—and although it appears that there was property in the Parish belonging to EYRE's Almshouses, it seems impossible now to ascertain it's extent, or to distinguish it with any certainty, except in some minute particulars, from the other property of the Parish.25
A similar calamity happened also to the Parish documents of Cundall and Leckby some time ago.26
Previously to the great Fire of London, there appear to have been seven Almspeople, inhabiting Almshouses in the Court-yard of Grocers' Hall,—but, since that event, The Commissioners do not find that there have been any such Almshouses belonging to THE GROCERS' COMWATER CONDUITS.
25 Rep. iv. p. 149. 26 Rep. iv. p. 406. 27 Rep. vi. p. 273.
Good water which is such an indispensable requisite in life, appears to have gained the attention of the benevolent at an early period, when many sums were bequeathed for the erection and maintenance of Conduits. Water was not then, however, conveyed in pipes from house to house,—for there were people at that time, whose only occupation was that of carrying water to the houses of the citizens. But about the year 1614, Sir Hugi MIDDLETON conceived the grand design of bringing water to the Metropolis, which, with infinite cost and indefatigable labour, he accomplished, from two great springs at Chadwell and Amwell in the County of Hertford.
About the year 1248, the Brook, called “ The Tye or Tybourne,” furnished nine Conduits for supplying the City with
Rep. III-Xrv. Index.
water,—but the introduction of “ The New River” superseded the use of them. Here The Lord Mayor had a BanquetingHouse, to which His Lordship and brethren were wont to repair on horseback, attended by their Ladies in waggons,— and after viewing the Conduits, they returned to the City, where they were magnificently entertained by The Lord Mayor.
In the year 1700, " the fashionable lounge” of Bond Street was built no farther than the West end of Clifford Street. It took it's name from the Proprietor, a Baronet, of a Family now extinct. New Bond Street was at that time an open field, called “ Conduit Mead,” from one of the Conduits which supplied this part of the Town with water and Conduit Street received it's name for the same reason.
2 Pennant's Account of London, p. 181. 3 Ibid. p. 124.
In the month of November 1677, EDWARD FORTESCUE, Esq., of Spridleston, then Churchwarden, with the approbation and contribution of the majority of the landed Parishioners of Brixton, in the County of Devon, planted “ a Colony of Elms, regularly disposed into walks,” to the intent that (when perfect in growth, and sold) lands may be purchased with the money for the relief of the Poor of Brixton, and that Posterity reaping the advantage of their benefaction, may be encouraged to provide for more successions, by substituting others in the room of these,
“ Cyrus ad LYSAND. : “ Multæ etiam istarum arborum meâ manu sunt satæ. “ Nemo sibi solum natus, nilque libero dignius.
“ May MITHRIDATES' spirit still affright “Such as our living galleries despite. “ CLEOMENES and AGAMEMNON's fate