Shakespeare: The Seven Ages of Human Experience

Wiley, 2005 M06 17 - 278 páginas
The extended second edition of this inspiring introduction to Shakespeare offers readers more insights into what makes Shakespeare great, and why we still read and perform his works.

  • A highly innovative introduction to the extraordinary phenomenon of Shakespeare

  • Explores Shakespeares works through the "Seven Ages of Man", from childhood to "second childishness and mere oblivion"

  • Now includes more material on fathers and sons, the perils of courtship, the circumstances of Shakespeares own life, the performance history of his plays on stage and on screen, and more

  • A new final chapter on "Shakespeare Today" looks at the remarkable diversity of interpretations in modern criticism and performance of Shakespeare

  • Discusses a wide range of plays and poems

  • Suitable for both non-specialist readers, and scholars seeking a fresh approach to the study of Shakespeare

Comentarios de la gente - Escribir un comentario

No encontramos ningún comentario en los lugares habituales.

Acerca del autor (2005)

David Bevington is the Phyllis Fay Horton Distinguished Service Professor in the Humanities at the University of Chicago. His numerous publications include The Bantam Shakespeare, in 29 paperback volumes (1988, new edition forthcoming), and The Complete Works of Shakespeare (fifth edition, 2003), as well as the Oxford Shakespeare edition of Henry IV Part I (1987), the New Cambridge Shakespeare edition of Antony and Cleopatra (second edition, 2005), and the Arden Shakespeare edition of Troilus and Cressida (1998). He is the senior editor of the Revels Student Editions, and is a senior editor of the Revels Plays and of the forthcoming Cambridge edition of the works of Ben Jonson. He is also general editor of English Renaissance Drama: A Norton Anthology (2002).

Información bibliográfica