The Garden in which I Walk

University of Alabama Press, 2004 - 144 páginas
This extraordinarily polished and sophisticated story collection investigates the unaccountable ways in which literature and life entwine. In "Three Seaside Tales" a woman at a resort imagines herself in a Chekhov story only to succumb to banal everydayness, and in "Island Time" a young bride inexorably merges with Emma Bovary. Brennan's fictions position their readers at the edge of the known world, opening onto vistas of both erotic promise and ghastly beauty. The voices, youthful and aging, maniacal and restrained, represent our world's lost, scattering their words among surrealistic ruins, as though they have come to inhabit their own dreams. The lovely protagonist of "Saw" inexplicably maims herself with a chainsaw, literalizing in this violent impulse the self-destructive passion of all of Brennan's characters to actualize romance. These characters lead the reader through a charged, personal landscape of apocalyptic and post-apocalyptic complexity. Their voices will continue to echo long after the book has been closed.

Comentarios de la gente - Escribir un comentario

LibraryThing Review

Crítica de los usuarios  - lostcheerio - LibraryThing

This writing is very controlled, very lovely, very fine. There isn't a lot of warbling excess -- it's carefully honed. It reads like poetry, lots of it, and I'm not surprised to find that Karen ... Leer comentario completo

Páginas seleccionadas


The Garden in Which I Walk
Three Seaside Tales
Secret Encounters
The Emergence of Modernism
Happy Girl
Island Time
The Woman Who Loved Petunias
Tutti Frutti
On Vision
The Soul in its Flight
Derechos de autor

Otras ediciones - Ver todas

Términos y frases comunes

Acerca del autor (2004)

Karen Brennan holds a PhD from University of Arizona and an MFA from Goddard. She is a professor in the English department at University of Utah. She has published Wild Desire (University of Massachusetts Press,1990), a short fiction collection, which won the AWP Award in Fiction; Here on Earth (Wesleyan University Press, 1988), a poetry collection; and Being With Rachel: a Story of Memory and Survival (W.W. Norton, 2002), a memoir that was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize. She has had multiple Pushcart nominations and received a Pushcart Special Mention for "Cleaning House." She has also received the Sonora Review Fiction First Prize, Florence Hemley Schneider Prize in Women's Studies, PEN Syndicated Short Fiction Prize, and Senora Review Poetry First Prize.

Información bibliográfica